I am a Bad Blogger

tapas1.jpgI promised you a recipe for tapas albondingas, and then promptly forgot. Oh, the humanity!

Ok, here’s first the spicy tomato sauce recipe, and then the meatballs. Hopefully you’ll forgive me and we can still be friends.

Recipes are from tapas by Richard Tapper. The picture is from amazon.

Zesty Tomato Sauce
1 T olive oil
1 onion, minced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 lb canned whole peeled tomatoes, pureed (I just squashed ’em with my fingers, classy dame that I am)
1 small red chili pepper, deseeded and chopped (DO NOT TOUCH YOUR EYES) or 1/2 tsp dried red pepper flakes
2 bay leaves
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper

Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat and saute the onion and garlic until fragrant, 1-2 minutes. Add all the other ingredients and mix well. Bring the mixture to a boil, reduce the heat to low and simmer, stirring occasionally, until it thickens, 20-30 minutes.

Albondingas (seasoned meatballs)
This recipe I modified–it called for the meatballs to be deepfried, and I was out of burners on the stove, patience, and a desire for more fried things. I baked them instead.
1 lb ground pork or beef (I used beef)
1/2 c finely chopped onion
4 cloves of garlic, minced
1 T chopped parsley
1/2 c fine breadcrumbs
3 eggs
1 red chili pepper, deseeded and minced, or 1 tsp bottled chili sauce (I skipped this)
1/2 tsp ground white pepper (I only had black, so that’s what I used)

In a mixing bowl, combine all the ingredients and mix thoroughly. Let it stand for at least a half hour for the flavors to blend. Shape into 1″ balls. You should get 45 of them. We only made a half-batch, and we still had, oh, 25 of the little fellas.

Place on a cookie sheet and bake in a 350F oven for 20 minutes. I broke one open to see if they were done, which gave me and Jason, who was helping me cook (along with Mr. Pea) a chance to eat one. Veeeeery tasty.

You can let these sit, if you have to, and just heat them up gently in the sauce. Serve together. They’re scrumptious.

Leave a Reply

