Not so much cooking…

Well, that’s not entirely true.  What day is it?  Wednesday.  On Monday, we went grocery shopping, and Mr. Pea really wanted tacos.  We made some with turkey and a packet o’ seasoning and box o’ shells, as I was too tired to find my recipe for spice mix.  We also made a box of rice to go with it.  So, as you can see, our cooking wasn’t terribly ambitious.  Then yesterday I spent all morning waiting around the doctor’s office for my three-minute appointment (know what happens when you type all day and sew all night?  Your wrists hate you), so then I took myself out to lunch.  This isn’t something I think I’ve ever really done.  I’ve bought myself all manner of sandwiches, sure, and slices of pizza, but yesterday I actually went to a little restaurant with waiters and everything and sat for a while, letting them bring me lunch.  It was kind of fun!  I sat at Bangkok Bistro, a hole in the wall in Cleveland Circle, in the Brighton section of Boston, and read my book (Daughter of Fortune by Isabelle Allende, in case you’re interested).  I had a pad  thai combo plate, which included some very spicy soup I couldn’t finish, delicious pad thai, and ok spring rolls.  I like my rolls with more stuff–these mainly had mung sprouts, those tiny tiny rice noodly things.  I even got to watch a car accident, which, you know, was interesting.  But I was stuffed all day, and poor Mr. Pea had to get takeout for dinner.  At 8:30 or so I finally ate a bowl of cereal.  So, yeah, no cooking there, either.  But tonight I plan to cook!  I’m hoping to make a new tofu dish–something that’s not just a stir-fry.  So we shall see how that goes.

Well, I guess that’s enough rambling for now.  I am *thiiis* close to finishing my dissertation, so I should probably go back to that, eh?  Unless you want to finish it for me.  I’ll take any offers at this point!

Leave a Reply

