Citrus Twist

The other day I was reading one of my favorite blogs, Mollycoddle, and Molly there posted that she’d made a delicious lemon cake. I thought I’d give it a go, as well. It’s made with yogurt, canola oil, and the usual assortment of dry ingredients, mixed with some lemon zest. It rises beautifully, and after it cools, you poor a tangy glaze over the top.

The recipe is from Orangette, a fantastic cooking blog, and I made a couple of changes due to what I had on hand. First, since I didn’t have plain yogurt, I used lemon yogurt. I used the zest from an entire lemon. When I made the glaze, I upped the sugar by 1 T and used only one very ripe lemon, which made a lot of juice. The cake is tasty and light, and required the oven only be on for a half hour or so. Perfect for summer!

Today looks to be a lovely day, weather-wise; I am dying to just go to the beach rather than edit (my own) boring chapters. Oh, and if you have anything to do with the backhoe that is tearing up the road just down the street and making so much noise it’s hard to concentrate for the fourth time since May, I’d be really grateful if you’d just cut it out. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

