Panzanella

It’s a beautiful day in New England, and breaking my tradition of No-Cook Friday (who wants to make dinner on a Friday night? Not usually me!), I decided to put a tasty meal together. I have a steak marinating in the fridge–a piece of shell sirloin that was on sale last time we went shopping–and I’ve made this panzanella.

We’ll be lucky if there’s much left by actually dinner.

Panzanella is an Italian bread salad and something I’ve always wanted to make. When we had tapas the other night, one of our friends brought over a loaf of Italian bread. We didn’t eat it all, so I used what was left to make the salad today. I also took a walk to the grocery store for the odds and ends we didn’t have.

This is adapted from a recipe at Epicurious.

You’ll need:
6 c of cubed day-old bread
2 tomatoes, cut into 8 wedges, or a pint of grape tomatoes cut in half and sprinkled with a little salt
1/3 medium red onion, cut into small bits (mine are tiny slcies)
1/2 medium cucumber, sliced thin
10 basil leaves, chopped
bit of mozzerella (an ounce or so?) chopped into small cubes

1/2 c olive oil
2 T or so red wine vinegar
fresh pepper

The first thing I did was slice my tomatoes, put them in the bowl, and sprinkled them with a bit of kosher salt. I added the other veggies as I sliced them, and made the vinagrette. This I poured over the salad and tossed, and then popped it into the fridge for a little while–maybe a half hour or so. Then I took it out and added the basil and mozzerella, tossed, and now it’s back in the fridge. From what I understand, though you can serve it right after you make it, the salad gets better with a little time to mellow. It’s already pretty tasty, so I’m looking forward to eating it later on. Yum.

Leave a Reply

