But is it Flantastic?

Flan

That’s the question. I told my husband it was last night, and he gave me a look, which meant I had come up with an awesome new pun. Hot dog.

So tonight is tapas night, and as you can see, the flan is ready. I made it yesterday. It’s a coconut flan with a hit of rum. It smells good, and the nibble I had off the butter knife from loosening the flan from the pie plate suggests flantasticness, but we shall see. I also made the dough for the empanadas yesterday, and today I have made up the croquette mixture (it’s in the fridge) and the albondinga mixture (meatballs). It’s also in the fridge. We’ll start cooking everything up around 6.

The recipe I used for the flan was an amalgam of a bunch of recipes I read. I baked it in a 9″ pie plate, and it’s a little thin, so next time I might make either more custard mix or find a smaller dish to bake it in.

You’ll need:
1 can of light coconut milk
1/2 c milk
4 eggs
1/2 c + 1/3c sugar (you’ll use them separately)
bit of dark rum

Preheat your oven to 325 F.

First, make the caramel. Put 1/2 c of sugar in a small saucepan and heat until the sugar melts, stirring frequently. Let it brown to a medium color, and pour into your pie dish. You’re supposed to swirl it around, but I wasn’t fast enough and it pretty much stuck where it was. No big deal. Just be sure to NEVER EVER touch hot sugar. Unless you’re not interested in keeping your fingertips, leave it be.

In a bowl, whisk together four eggs, 1/3 c sugar, and your bit of rum. I had all of a tablespoon left in a nip bottle I bought years ago to make coconut cake, I think, so I just used that. Whisk until most of your sugar has dissolved.

Measure out 1 1/2 c of coconut milk (most of your can) and add to a saucepan with a 1/2 c of regular milk. Bring to just a boil, and add just a little to your eggs to temper them, whisking away. Add the rest in a steady stream, constantly whisking. Pour into your pie dish.

Set your pie dish in a roasting pan or deep baking sheet, and pour hot water into that pan, so it comes up halfway on your pie dish.  This is called a water bath.

Bake for 45-50 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.  Carefully remove from the oven, and then remove from hot water bath.  Allow to cool completely before you pop it in the fridge.  Let it chill in there at least a couple of hours.  To invert, just loosen the edges with a butter knife, pop your serving dish on top, and flip over.  The caramel is liquid, so it’ll all just slide right out.  Serve with whatever caramel is left in the dish–I used a spatula to just take it out.  Yum! (hopefully :))

Leave a Reply

