Tapas?

I’m planning a tapas dinner for Wednesday night.  Tapas are little dishes that are part of Spanish cuisine.  I’m going to make empanadas, croquettes, tiny meatballs in a spicy tomato sauce, and marinated mushrooms.  I’m a little intimidated by the process.  I’ve had tapas myself only twice, and in Minnesota, of all places.  Minneapolis actually has some really good restaurants–I’ve been to a place called La Bodega on 3005 Lyndale Ave. South with my friend Ashley on the two trips I’ve made there, and we’ve enjoyed tapas, flamenco music, and a bottle of wine each time.  Anyway, in honor of our little adventure she gave me a tapas cookbook for Christmas.  While I’ve ogled it a couple of times, I’ve always put it aside, intimidated.  But not this week!

If you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time or know me personally, you likely know that I pretty  much insist on doing everything myself.  I’m really bull-headed that way.  In this case, though, it may just get me in trouble, because in order to make the empanadas, I am going to make puff pastry.  From scratch.  Why I can’t just buy a package is beyond me, but I think it has to do with how cheap I am, and my stubborn insistence that I can do it, regardless of the time it takes.  So I think I’ll be doing that tomorrow.  I’ll also be making a coconut flan tomorrow, so it can sit and develop flavor in the fridge overnight.  The mushrooms might need to start marinating then, as well–I’ll have to look.  Then on Wednesday I’ll make the empanadas,  the croquettes, and the meatballs.  I must be out of my mind 🙂

Have you ever made or tried tapas?  How did it go?  I’ll keep you posted as I begin making them myself.

One response »

Leave a Reply

