You say tomato…

Tomatoes 001

Some time ago I mentioned that Mr. Pea and I went to a yardsale where a woman was selling plastic party cups with heirloom tomato seedlings. I thought I’d update you on their progress. This one here is a Purple Cherokee, and he’s huge! He’s gotten really big–the step where he is gets lots of sun and all the rain, so he’s quite happy there. I staked him earlier this week. He’s got three flowers, and they’re different from any other tomato flower I’ve ever seen. I’m so excited to see what the actual fruit will look like. They’re supposed to be among the tastiest tomatoes a girl can grow. We shall see.

Tomatoes 002

This tomato is a striped tomato. Or, it will produce striped tomatoes. It’s a little smaller, though still growing strongly, than its Purple brother. I think it’s because it was on the top step and got a bit of shade from the porch roof. I’ve moved him down to a lower step in hopes that he’ll get more sun. Again, I’m very excited to see these puppies grow.

Herbs

And for giggles, I thought I’d show you my herb box. Our herb box, I should say. This has been a joint project. Two of the herbs–the rosemary on the end and the thyme in the middle–were plants from last year. We wintered them on the kitchen island, and put them back out on the porch once frosty nights were over. There’s a basil on the end and a parsley that’s growing wild in the center. I keep imagining slivers of basil with sliced purple tomatoes…if that’s not summer, I don’t know what is!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

