Pork Kabobs

I bought some pork chops on our last trip to the grocery store, but I was really not in the mood last night for plain-jane chops. So instead, I trimmed the fat off the chops and cut them into big cubes. I marinated them for a couple of hours, skewered them, and grilled them for 12 or 15 minutes. They were juicy and delicious. If you’re already sick of chicken kabobs or beef kabobs, you’ll have to give them a whirl.

I also made some couscous to serve with the kabobs. I was going to make risotto–I’d opened a bottle of white wine (badly–how I can’t ever open a bottle of wine is the stuff of another post) for the job, and went in search of arborio rice in the pantry…where there wasn’t any. Not to let it go to waste, I poured myself a glass o’ wine and found some couscous hiding on a shelf. The couscous was nice and fluffy, a good accompaniment to the pork, though it tasted like it needed something. I just can’t put my finger on what.

To marinate the pork:
I used three 1″-thick chops–you could easily use just over a pound of loin or tenderloin for this.

2-3 cloves of garlic, minced or put through a press
juice of one lemon
3 or 4 T of olive oil
kosher salt (big pinch)
pepper (you know, some–I turned the grinder five or six times)
a couple sprigs of fresh rosemary, leaves pulled

Mix together and allow pork to sit for at least a couple hours (in the fridge, of course). Grill over high heat until cooked through.


For the couscous:
1/2 onion, chopped
1 T olive oil
1 can low-sodium chicken broth
pinch turmeric
1 1/2 c couscous
1/4 c or so feta cheese
2 T or so chopped fresh parsley

Saute the onion in the olive oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. When softened, add broth and turmeric, and bring to a boil. When it’s come to a good boil, stir in couscous, remove from heat, and cover. Leave it be for 10 minutes. Fluff with a fork. Add feta and parsley and mix before serving.

Leave a Reply

