Lemony Lemon

When I saw these on Everybody Likes Sandwiches, I knew I’d be making them pretty soon. These cookies contain a fair amount of lemon zest, which gives them a lovely, bright flavor. They’re still buttery–the lemon’s not overpowering–and they have both a crispy edge and a chewy exterior. Yum!Here’s the recipe pretty nearly as Everybody Likes Sandwiches posted it. I made these babies almost exactly as she did–and she says she got them from another blog, and that blogger got them from Rachel Ray’s magazine. So there’s the provenance. The only thing I did differently was to NOT roll them in sugar. I’m not always crazy over the extra sugar layer on the outside, so I just left it off. These cookies are really tasty dipped in your cuppa joe.

Lemon Cookies a la Everybody Likes Sandwiches

1/2 c butter, slightly chilled
1 c sugar (plus another 1/4 c for rolling)
zest of 2 lemons, plus 1 T lemon juice
1 egg
1 1/2 cups flour
1/4 t baking soda
1/4 t salt

1. Preheat oven to 350. In a mixer, blend butter and sugar until combined. Add in lemon zest, lemon juice and egg and mix until fluffy.  Add dry ingredients and beat until combined.

2. On a small plate, roll teaspoons of dough into balls and then roll in the remaining sugar. Place onto cookie sheet. Bake for about 12-14 minutes or until the edges are lightly golden. Remove from sheet and cool on racks. Makes 3 dozen.

2 responses »

  1. I love me some lemon bars. I made some not long ago, so I thought I’d try a little variation. If I could remember your address I’d pop some in the mail for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

