Gold-tone Coffee Filter

I drink a lot of coffee. Typically I go through a lot of filters, and run out a lot, and then do a lot of cursing. I’d buy them when I could at Trader Joe’s, where they were cheaper and came in greater quantities, but the last time I was there they didn’t have any in my machine’s size. And then, frustrated, I decided it was time for a change. I ordered this filter from Amazon–it’s by cuisinart, and so’s my machine, so the fit was perfect–and have been pretty happy with it ever since. I feel more green, since I’m not throwing out multiple filters a day, and I’m saving a few bucks every week. Each morning I just remove the old grinds and put it in a container by my sink for tossing in my compost bin (another new project), give it a good rinse, and fill it with new grinds. I pop it in the dishwasher, too, on a regular basis. The one thing I don’t like about it is that I now get some very fine, silt-like coffee dust in my cup–it sits at the bottom, but has no texture, unlike when you accidentally drop grinds through the filter. The coffee itself is stronger, too, and that’s taking a bit of tweaking to get right. Altogether, though, it’s been a great $10 investment. You can get your own here.

Leave a Reply

