Vinaigrette Cole Slaw

I’m ill, people. I thought I was just having a nasty allergy attack, but I’m pretty sure now it’s a cold. Lame! I hate being sick, especially at this time of year, when I have a mountain of work to do. But that doesn’t mean I stop cooking!

Last night, after a fun-filled day of yardsaling and cleaning the house (that latter part was less fun, though we did organize our books, which was interesting), I made cole slaw and portabella sandwiches for dinner last night. I don’t make fancy sandwiches–I merely cleaned the giant mushrooms, brushed them with an olive oil/balsamic vinegar/kosher salt and pepper mix, and threw them under the broiler, adding some cheddar to melt near the end–so if you have suggestions for something that might pack a bit more oomph into that mushroom, I’m all ears.

But the cole slaw was really tasty. Instead of making one with mayo, this one has a light vinaigrette you toss the cabbage with. I used about half of a small head of cabbage, sliced thinly and then chopped up, for four cups of shredded cabbage, and two carrots that I used this handy tool on the peeled carrots, making thin, rounded strips that I then cut. I also added a couple of tablespoons of minced shallot for flavor.

For this recipe, you’ll need:
4c shredded green cabbage (or a combination of red and green)
2 shredded carrots
2 T diced shallots or a couple of green onions, diced

3 T vinegar (I used white, but red wine would be good)
2 T sugar
2 T canola oil
1/4 t dry mustard
1/4 t salt
1/8t-1/4t black pepper

Make the dressing in a small bowl by whisking it together.

Put all your shredded veggies in a large bowl. Add dressing and toss to coat. Put in the fridge to mingle for at least an hour, even longer for more developed flavor. Toss before eating to stir up all the dressing at the bottom.

Incidentally, I bought a couple of heirloom tomato plants at one of the yardsales in our neighborhood. When I get my hands on some soil I’m going to pot them up. One’s a Cherokee Purple, the other’s a Stripey. I can’t wait to try them–I’ve never had an heirloom tomato but have heard they are ridiculously tasty.

4 responses »

  1. I hope you feel better! I hate getting sick – I don’t actually get sick often, but when I do… it just is not pretty!

  2. What a simple summer dish! The no-mayo-slaw and grilled veggies are sooo Italian. Good to see you are getting ready for the big trip 🙂

Leave a Reply

