I seem to have disappeared!

I’ve not blogged the last several days, I know. We had a wedding this weekend, and I’ve had Sweet Pea stuff to do, and tonight we got take out–the list goes on and on. I did a little baking on Saturday, but have I taken a photo? Noooo. But here, I’ll fill you in, anyway. I made almond squares. I like almond squares when I have a craving for almond flavor but no actual almonds. They’re just a little cake, chopped into, well, squares. I doctored a recipe my grandma gave me–hers calls for a whole stick of butter in a wee 8″ pan, so I tried to find a way to make it without so much butter. First, butter up an 8″ square pan, and turn the oven onto 350 degrees.

You’ll need:

1/2 stick of butter, melted (1/4 c.)

1 c sugar

1 c flour

1/4 c milk

1 tsp almond extract

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 eggs, beaten

pinch of salt

Mix all these things together. Pour into the pan. Bake for a half hour, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool and cut into squares. Easy and tasty!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

