Ridiculously Tasty Cupcakes

I bake most Fridays. It’s the only day of the week (besides the weekend) that I don’t have to go into either office, so I like to take an hour or so and make something sweet. This past Friday I made Amy Sedaris’ vanilla cupcakes. If you haven’t browsed through her 2006 book I Like You: Hospitality Under the Influence, you don’t know what you’re missing. Amy’s a hoot, and she’s crafty, and she likes to cook. She’s a girl after my own heart. Ever see her on Letterman? It’s hilarious. Anyway, she sells cupcakes and cheeseballs, and in this book was generous enough to share recipes for both. I made a half-batch of cupcakes. There was a minor kitchen incident in the process wherein I almost killed a whole stick of butter, but I digress.

Yesterday I went looking for frosting recipes. People, this is the best chocolate frosting I have tasted. It’s fudgy and rich, and doesn’t taste like confectioner’s sugar with a little cocoa. I modified a recipe I found on allrecipes to make it. It tastes kind of like the chocolate that goes on top of donuts. Can’t go wrong there.

So bake up your favorite cupcake, and give this frosting a go.

You’ll need

Just over 2 1/2 T of butter, softened
1/4 c of cocoa
tiniest bit of salt
1 1/2 T boiling (or really hot) water
3/4 c confectioner’s sugar.

Cream butter. Add the cocoa, salt and water, beating until smooth. Add sugar and beat until spreadable. Easy as pie, and you’ll want to lick the bowl clean.

4 responses »

  1. Thank goodness the little blunder you made didn’t consist of mixing up the recipe for the cupcakes and icing along with one for the cheese balls! This is a site I will come back to over and over so I might as well book mark it right now! ~Donna

  2. Nope! I live in the US. That cracks me up, though, that you hear me with an accent. Sometimes I pretend to have one, but I’m not very good at it 🙂

Leave a Reply

