Rice and Beans

Last night I looked around the ol’ fridge, pantry and freezer and thought that really, this time I’d reached the end of cooking possibilities. There were lots of odds and ends, but nothing that seemed to create an actual meal. Then I remembered I had a can of black beans waaaay in the back of the pantry, and that I’d bought a brick of extra sharp cheddar, and that I had tortillas. I was in business. I made black beans a yellow, Mexican-inspired rice. I went over to the Mexican restaurant in my neighborhood (their slogan is “Mexican Food Made By Real Mexicans,” I kid you not) and got some proper salsa and chips. And Horchata, those tasty fruit sodas. Pina for me, Mandarina for Mr. Pea. I made quesadillas to go with, and we had ourselves a nice little feast.

So to make the rice, you need:
olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1-3 cloves of garlic, depending on how much you like it, minced
1 c long grain rice
pinch of turmeric
bigger pinch cumin
little pinch cayenne (I’m a sissy)
2 c vegetable or chicken broth (I had one last bouillion cube I used)

Put just under a tablespoon of olive oil in a saucepan and warm over medium-high heat. Add onions and sprinkle with salt; stirring occasionally, cook until transluscentish, about 3 or 5 minutes. Then add the garlic, another minute. Then add your rice, and let it toast up a minute or two. Then add your spices, cooking just a few seconds. Then, finally, add the broth. Bring it to a boil (stir so it won’t stick), and then turn it to low, covering it. About twenty minutes later, tasty rice.

For the beans:
olive oil
1/2 onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
One can black beans, drained and rinsed
1/4 c water
pinch oregano
a couple good spoonfulls of tasty salsa

We follow the same procedure here. Get a pan, add oil, heat, add onion and a little salt, cook until transluscentish, add garlic, cook thirty seconds. Then you add your beans, and stir them around, cooking a minute or so. I had this on high heat, since I was impatient 🙂 Then add the water and oregano. Bring to a boil, turn to medium-low, and cover. Five or so minutes later, add salsa, and let simmer several minutes more. Tasty! They’d be good in a burrito, too, I’d bet.

Leave a Reply

