Eggplant and Tomato Rotini

I buy an eggplant whenever they go on sale at the market, and then I spend a few days wondering what the heck to do with it. Eggplant parmesan is pretty time consuming, so it’s a special treat; occasionally, I’ll make eggplant rollatini, should ricotta also be on sale. Most often I just slice the plant up and coat it in egg and breadcrumbs, pop them in the oven, and serve with pasta and red sauce.

But the last time I bought an eggplant, I was feeling pretty clever. Voila! Eggplant and Tomato Rotini.

You will need:

1 medium eggplant, chopped into 1/2″ or so cubes
1 28 oz. can of tomatoes (whole, crushed, whatever)
1 onion, diced
1 or 2 minced gloves of garlic
olive oil
s & p
miscellaneous Italian herbs

In a medium saucepan, warm oil over medium heat. Add onion and a little salt; saute until transluscent. Add garlic, saute a minute or so. Add eggplant, and saute 5-10 minutes, until the eggplant starts to soften and wilt up a bit. Add tomatoes and miscellaneous herbs (whatever you’ve got–parsley, oregano, basil, and so forth); bring to a simmer, and reduce heat a bit. Simmer away for at least half an hour. This will be enough sauce for a pound of pasta.

You can also add a little wine to the sauce with the tomatoes, if you’d like.

Serve with lots of grated cheese.

2 responses »

  1. Sometimes I’ve had trouble with the eggplant making my dishes too soggy. It’s like it absorbs liquid, then releases it all at once. Then again, it could be my cooking.

  2. I think the high heat helps, but many cookbooks advise salting the eggplant, once it’s sliced or chopped or whatever, and then rinsing it. The salt will draw out the water. I’ve never tried it, but it might be worth a go!

Leave a Reply

